for concert band
duration: 5 minutes
level: Grade 5 in Canada
price: $50/score and set of parts, shipping is $15 in Canada, if you are ordering from another country pleaseĀ contact me

“Among the Clouds” is the fourth of my “Cityscapes” pieces which are inspired by my experiences in different cities. Each one tries to capture my emotional responses to these experiences.

Those great and beautiful towers, so high they almost touch the sky. They are the most visible example of what can be achieved by human thought and vision. They are among the clouds. A brief fanfare precedes a passacaglia building to a climactic finish. This movement is also inspired by the wonderful paintings of the same name by Bryan Larsen.

The four “Cityscapes” pieces may be performed as a set, on their own, or in any combination.

View Score

Flute 1, 2
Oboe 1, 2
Clarinet in Bb 1-4
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Alto Saxophone 1, 2
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone
Bassoon 1, 2
Trumpet in Bb 1-4
Horn in F 1-4
Trombone 1-3
String Bass (optional)
3 Percussionists Minimum